← All comparisonsMyTCM vs ZangFu

MyTCM vs ZangFu for acupuncture and TCM clinics in Canada

2026 pricing and feature comparison. By Oscar Poon, founder of MyTCM.

The short answer

ZangFu is an AI documentation tool for acupuncturists that produces pattern differentiation, point prescriptions and herbal formulas from dictation. It is not an EMR, scheduling or billing system, it stores data in the browser, and its site says it is not HIPAA certified. MyTCM is a complete Canadian clinic system with data stored in Montreal.

Features compared

ZangFu lists a founding member price and an annual price without naming a currency.

 MyTCMZangFu
What it isA complete EMR and practice management systemAn AI clinical documentation tool. Not an EMR, practice management or billing system
PriceSingle License $56 CAD a month$19.99 a month founding rate (first 20 subscribers), or $199.99 a year. Currency not stated
AI chartingVoice dictation, SOAP report, pairing from the ICD code and patternVoice dictation, SOAP notes, ranked pattern differentials, point prescriptions and herbal formulas with dosages
Scheduling, reminders, paymentsIncludedNot part of the product
Insurance billing todayICBC available today (email on every license, web portal on Site License). More insurers and MSP are being addedSuggests ICD-10 codes. No payers named
Data handlingDedicated database you own, stored in Montreal. Designed to the ten principles of PIPEDA and BC PIPAStored locally in the browser. Clinical content is sent through the Claude API. Site says not HIPAA certified. PIPEDA and PHIPA not mentioned
Free trial30 days7 days, no card

ZangFu details are from its home page.

Anyone can build an EMR with AI. Solving day-to-day clinic problems requires real clinic management experience.

A chart, a calendar and an invoice are the easy part of clinic software. What makes practitioners choose MyTCM is that it was designed around the specific problems of a TCM clinic, so each one takes a fraction of the time and effort.

Oscar Poon, MyTCM's founder, is in the process of becoming certified as a CIPP/C, the Canadian privacy professional designation. He has not passed the exam yet. He also spent 10 years managing 3 acupuncture clinics, and that experience shaped how every part of MyTCM works.

What a CIPP/C is and what it means for your clinic

Problems MyTCM is built to solve

Where a ZangFu cell says "not described", the pages we read did not mention it. Ask ZangFu before you decide.

ProblemHow MyTCM solves itZangFu
Charting in Chinese when records and insurers need EnglishMandarin and English voice dictation, a Chinese to English SOAP report, and a trilingual interface (English, Traditional and Simplified Chinese)English interface. Chinese interface not stated
Building presets before the software saves you timePairs an ICD code and a TCM pattern with suggested acupoints and herbs without presets, built from more than 10 Canadian and Chinese textbooks and 20 years of clinical documentation from three Vancouver clinicsProduces pattern differentials, point prescriptions and herbal formulas from dictation
Paying more every time you add a practitionerOne flat price covers up to 5 users at a locationNot described on the pages we read
Splitting revenue and paying practitionersOne-click payment, payroll and revenue-split reportsNot described on the pages we read
Getting help fast when something breaksDirect tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM PacificNot described on the pages we read
Owning and keeping your patient dataYou own the database, set up on accounts in your name, stored in Montreal. MyTCM accesses it only as the Data Processing Agreement you sign before set up allowsStored locally in the browser. Site says not HIPAA certified

Where ZangFu is strong

  • Produces pattern differentials, point prescriptions and herbal formulas with dosages from dictation.
  • A low price and a 7 day trial with no card.
  • Useful for students and for practitioners who only want a note tool.

Where MyTCM is strong

  • Charting built around TCM: ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, TCM patterns, 361 acupuncture points and Pinyin plus Latin herb names.
  • Auto diagnosis and treatment pairing that suggests acupoints and herbs from the ICD code and pattern, without presets.
  • Mandarin and English voice dictation and a Chinese to English SOAP report.
  • Unlimited appointments and one flat price for up to 5 users at a location, so adding practitioners costs nothing extra.
  • Direct tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM Pacific.
  • You own the database. Your data is stored in Montreal, Canada.
  • ICBC billing available today, with more insurers being added.

Choose ZangFu if

  • You are a student or want only an AI note tool and already have other systems.
  • You accept browser-based local storage.

Choose MyTCM if

  • You want scheduling, reminders, payments, payroll and billing in one system.
  • You need Canadian data storage and a dedicated database.
  • You have several practitioners and want a flat price.

Ask any vendor before you sign

These questions apply to us too.

  • Which Canadian payers can I bill directly today, and which are still planned?
  • What is the total monthly price for my number of practitioners and staff?
  • Where is my patient data stored, and can I export it if I leave?

Frequently asked questions

Is ZangFu an EMR?

No. Its site describes an AI clinical documentation tool, and says it is not an EMR, practice management or billing system.

Where does ZangFu store patient data?

Its site says data is stored locally in the browser and that clinical content goes through the Claude API. It says it is not HIPAA certified and does not mention PIPEDA or PHIPA.

Sources

MyTCM is not affiliated with ZangFu. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm current pricing on their site.

Say goodbye to
your digital pain points

Questions? Call 1-888-884-7726