MyTCM vs Acusimple for acupuncture and TCM clinics in Canada
2026 pricing and feature comparison. By Oscar Poon, founder of MyTCM.
The short answer
Acusimple is practice management software designed for acupuncture practitioners, with plans from $19.99 to $79.99 a month, $29 for each extra practitioner account and $35 a month for its AI Scribe. Its billing describes US claim forms and it names no Canadian payers. MyTCM is Canadian and covers up to 5 users at a location for $56 a month.
What each one really costs
Acusimple lists a base plan plus per-user accounts and add-ons. Its pricing page does not label the currency.
| MyTCM | Acusimple | |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Single License, $56 CAD a month | Scheduling $19.99, Basic $59.99, Plus $69.99, Premium $79.99 a month |
| Adding practitioners and staff | Up to 5 users at 1 location for one flat price, no per-practitioner fee | $29 a month per practitioner account, $20 per office staff, $10 scheduling-only |
| AI | Mandarin and English voice dictation included | AI Scribe $35 a month per user |
| Text messaging | Unlimited email and SMS reminders included | $10 a month with 500 texts, then 2 cents each |
| Insurance claims | ICBC available today (email on every license, web portal on Site License). More insurers and MSP are being added | 50 claim credits a month, then $0.35 each. Describes CMS-1500 forms; no Canadian payers named |
| Free trial | 30 days | 15 days, no payment |
Acusimple prices are from its pricing page, which does not label a currency. Its site states 100% HIPAA compliance and does not state where data is stored.
Anyone can build an EMR with AI. Solving day-to-day clinic problems requires real clinic management experience.
A chart, a calendar and an invoice are the easy part of clinic software. What makes practitioners choose MyTCM is that it was designed around the specific problems of a TCM clinic, so each one takes a fraction of the time and effort.
Oscar Poon, MyTCM's founder, is in the process of becoming certified as a CIPP/C, the Canadian privacy professional designation. He has not passed the exam yet. He also spent 10 years managing 3 acupuncture clinics, and that experience shaped how every part of MyTCM works.
Problems MyTCM is built to solve
Where a Acusimple cell says "not described", the pages we read did not mention it. Ask Acusimple before you decide.
| Problem | How MyTCM solves it | Acusimple |
|---|---|---|
| Charting in Chinese when records and insurers need English | Mandarin and English voice dictation, a Chinese to English SOAP report, and a trilingual interface (English, Traditional and Simplified Chinese) | Not described on the pages we read |
| Building presets before the software saves you time | Pairs an ICD code and a TCM pattern with suggested acupoints and herbs without presets, built from more than 10 Canadian and Chinese textbooks and 20 years of clinical documentation from three Vancouver clinics | Not described on the pages we read |
| Paying more every time you add a practitioner | One flat price covers up to 5 users at a location | $29 a month for each extra practitioner account, $20 per office staff |
| Splitting revenue and paying practitioners | One-click payment, payroll and revenue-split reports | Not described on the pages we read |
| Getting help fast when something breaks | Direct tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM Pacific | Not described on the pages we read |
| Owning and keeping your patient data | You own the database, set up on accounts in your name, stored in Montreal. MyTCM accesses it only as the Data Processing Agreement you sign before set up allows | States HIPAA compliance. Data location not stated |
Where Acusimple is strong
- Built specifically for acupuncture, with a Chinese pharmacy database of 400+ formulas and point references.
- A 15 day trial and no setup fees.
- A low-cost scheduling-only tier at $19.99.
Where MyTCM is strong
- Charting built around TCM: ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, TCM patterns, 361 acupuncture points and Pinyin plus Latin herb names.
- Auto diagnosis and treatment pairing that suggests acupoints and herbs from the ICD code and pattern, without presets.
- Mandarin and English voice dictation and a Chinese to English SOAP report.
- Unlimited appointments and one flat price for up to 5 users at a location, so adding practitioners costs nothing extra.
- Direct tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM Pacific.
- You own the database. Your data is stored in Montreal, Canada.
- ICBC billing available today, with more insurers being added.
Choose Acusimple if
- You want an acupuncture-specific tool with a formula database and US-style billing.
- You only need scheduling to start.
Choose MyTCM if
- You practise in Canada and want Canadian pricing, billing direction and data storage.
- You want dictation and unlimited reminders included rather than add-ons.
- You have several practitioners and want one flat price.
Ask any vendor before you sign
These questions apply to us too.
- Which Canadian payers can I bill directly today, and which are still planned?
- What is the total monthly price for my number of practitioners and staff?
- Where is my patient data stored, and can I export it if I leave?
Frequently asked questions
How much does Acusimple cost?
Plans run from $19.99 to $79.99 a month, plus $29 for each extra practitioner account. The AI Scribe is $35 a month per user. The page does not label the currency.
Does Acusimple support Canadian insurers?
Its site describes electronic claims and CMS-1500 forms, and names no Canadian payers on the pages we read.
Sources
MyTCM is not affiliated with Acusimple. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm current pricing on their site.