← All comparisonsMyTCM vs OptiMantra

MyTCM vs OptiMantra for acupuncture and TCM clinics in Canada

2026 pricing and feature comparison. By Oscar Poon, founder of MyTCM.

The short answer

OptiMantra is a US-based EMR for integrative and wellness practices that includes an acupuncture and TCM module. It prices in US dollars at $99 a month for the first practitioner and $49 for each additional one, with two-way texting as a $75 add-on. MyTCM is Canadian, priced in Canadian dollars, and covers up to 5 users at one location for $56 a month.

What each one really costs

OptiMantra publishes one plan and charges per practitioner and per staff role, so the total depends on the size of your team.

 MyTCMOptiMantra
First practitionerSingle License, $56 CAD a monthUSD $99 a month
Adding practitioners and staffUp to 5 users at 1 location for one flat price, no per-practitioner feeUSD $49 for each extra practitioner, $25 for clinical staff, clerical staff free
Two-way textingUnlimited email and SMS reminders includedUSD $75 a month for two-way texting, $100 for group texting
Insurance billingICBC available today (email on every license, web portal on Site License). More insurers and MSP are being addedUSD $0.25 per claim. Payers are not named on the pages we read
AI chartingMandarin and English voice dictation includedAI charting add-on, price not stated
Currency and companyCanadian dollars, Canadian companyUS dollars, based in Nashville, Tennessee
Free trial30 daysTrial offered, length not stated

OptiMantra prices are from its pricing page. It states HIPAA and PHIPA compliance; it does not state where data is stored.

Anyone can build an EMR with AI. Solving day-to-day clinic problems requires real clinic management experience.

A chart, a calendar and an invoice are the easy part of clinic software. What makes practitioners choose MyTCM is that it was designed around the specific problems of a TCM clinic, so each one takes a fraction of the time and effort.

Oscar Poon, MyTCM's founder, is in the process of becoming certified as a CIPP/C, the Canadian privacy professional designation. He has not passed the exam yet. He also spent 10 years managing 3 acupuncture clinics, and that experience shaped how every part of MyTCM works.

What a CIPP/C is and what it means for your clinic

Problems MyTCM is built to solve

Where a OptiMantra cell says "not described", the pages we read did not mention it. Ask OptiMantra before you decide.

ProblemHow MyTCM solves itOptiMantra
Charting in Chinese when records and insurers need EnglishMandarin and English voice dictation, a Chinese to English SOAP report, and a trilingual interface (English, Traditional and Simplified Chinese)Chinese charting not stated on the pages we read
Building presets before the software saves you timePairs an ICD code and a TCM pattern with suggested acupoints and herbs without presets, built from more than 10 Canadian and Chinese textbooks and 20 years of clinical documentation from three Vancouver clinicsTCM treatment tracking with tongue and pulse fields and herbal formula recommendations. Pairing from an ICD code and pattern is not stated
Paying more every time you add a practitionerOne flat price covers up to 5 users at a location$49 a month for each extra practitioner, $25 for clinical staff
Splitting revenue and paying practitionersOne-click payment, payroll and revenue-split reportsNot described on the pages we read
Getting help fast when something breaksDirect tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM PacificNot described on the pages we read
Owning and keeping your patient dataYou own the database, set up on accounts in your name, stored in Montreal. MyTCM accesses it only as the Data Processing Agreement you sign before set up allowsStates HIPAA and PHIPA compliance. Data location not stated

Where OptiMantra is strong

  • An acupuncture and TCM module with tongue and pulse diagnosis tracking and herbal formula recommendations.
  • One plan with every feature, and free clerical staff accounts.
  • Discounts published for students and part-time practitioners.

Where MyTCM is strong

  • Charting built around TCM: ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, TCM patterns, 361 acupuncture points and Pinyin plus Latin herb names.
  • Auto diagnosis and treatment pairing that suggests acupoints and herbs from the ICD code and pattern, without presets.
  • Mandarin and English voice dictation and a Chinese to English SOAP report.
  • Unlimited appointments and one flat price for up to 5 users at a location, so adding practitioners costs nothing extra.
  • Direct tech support on WhatsApp, 6 AM to 9 PM Pacific.
  • You own the database. Your data is stored in Montreal, Canada.
  • ICBC billing available today, with more insurers being added.

Choose OptiMantra if

  • You run an integrative practice that mixes several modalities.
  • You are comfortable paying in US dollars and per practitioner.

Choose MyTCM if

  • You want Canadian pricing, a Canadian company and Canadian data storage.
  • You have several practitioners and staff at one location and want a flat price.
  • You chart in Chinese and want TCM pairing built in.

Ask any vendor before you sign

These questions apply to us too.

  • Which Canadian payers can I bill directly today, and which are still planned?
  • What is the total monthly price for my number of practitioners and staff?
  • Where is my patient data stored, and can I export it if I leave?

Frequently asked questions

How much does OptiMantra cost?

USD $99 a month for the first practitioner and $49 for each additional practitioner, plus $25 for clinical staff. Two-way texting is $75 a month.

Is OptiMantra a Canadian product?

Its About page says the company is based in Nashville, Tennessee. It states PHIPA compliance but does not say where data is stored.

Sources

MyTCM is not affiliated with OptiMantra. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm current pricing on their site.

Say goodbye to
your digital pain points

Questions? Call 1-888-884-7726